OOP. Encapsulation and data hiding

Comments Off on OOP. Encapsulation and data hiding

Home Forums Programming Software engineering Object-oriented programming OOP. Encapsulation and data hiding

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Васильев Владимир Сергеевич 2 weeks, 6 days ago.

• Author

This article explaines the difference between two close termines used in object-oriented programming: data hiding and encapsulation.

Some people might say it’s an interesting topic to discuss, some might say it’s rather funny, and some might say there is nothing here to discuss. Programming, as other sciences, has its own terminology. Each term describes a certain phenomenon. And those who claim themselves experts in this field, have to know this terminology, whether they like it or not. Therefore, all the attacks and replicas like “Who needs those theory discussions, I’m a programmer, not a teacher,” can be left somewhere else. And if you really think so, you are not a professional. Cause professionals are very accurate and respectful towards what they are using as their professional tools. There is an appropriate phrase which I think can be used in such cases: “It’s a must“. So, here and now we shall talk about termines which many people do not consider to be very simple to understand. What is the difference between Encapsulation and Data Hiding.

In some way, I shall repeat things I have already explained before in the article about Encapsulation. But repeating is another way to learn something. So, let’s start with the Encapsulation.

Those who are familiar with procedural languages ​​such as C, know the problem of global variables. When data is separated from functions which are using them, thus data and logic are defined separately.